Paul Hake Labour Day Open 2017 – September 2-4, 2017

posted in: Announcements | 0

Date: September 2-4, 2017

Location: Saint Mary’s University, 923 Robie Street, Halifax, N.S., Loyola Building, Room 175 (See campus map.)

Contact: Ken Cashin

Type: Six round Swiss.

Registration: Saturday, September 2nd, 9:30 a.m.-9:45 a.m.


Rd 1: Saturday, September 2nd, 10 a.m.

Rd 2: Saturday, September 2nd, 4 p.m.

Rd 3: Sunday, September 3rd, 10 a.m.

Rd 4: Sunday, September 3rd, 4 p.m.

Rd. 5. Monday, September 4th, 10 a.m.

Rd. 6. Monday, September 4th, 4 p.m.

Time control: Game in 2 hours, with 30-second increments starting at move one.


Tournament Entry Fee:

Adults (age 18 and over): $40

Seniors (age 65 and over): $35

Juniors (under age 18): $35

Byes: Half-point byes are available, but must be requested to the tournament director before the tournament begins, i.e., either before or at the time of registration.

Forfeits: Players are required to play all five rounds unless they have declared byes beforehand, as indicated above. Unless they have declared a bye for a particular round, as indicated above, players who do not show up for a game will be forfeited for that game, i.e., they will earn a score of zero for the game and their opponent will earn a score of one point for the game.

Also, a player is expected to show up on time for the start of the round, as a courtesy to their opponent. If a player does not show up within an hour after a game starts, the player will be forfeited for that round, i.e., they will earn a score of zero for the game and their opponent will earn a score of one point for the game.

Forced byes: In rounds where there is an uneven number of players, a full-point, forced bye will be given to one player, as determined by the pairing software.

Note: In addition to paying the tournament entry fee stated above, to participate in the tournament a payer must be a member of the Chess Federation of Canada (CFC). The membership can be purchased online on the CFC site before the tournament, or can be paid to the tournament director onsite at time of registration.


Last updated September 1, 2017, 9:30 p.m.

Confirmed Participants:

Roger Langen (2201)

Chris Felix (2053)

Glenn Charlton (2043)

Paul Abela (1959)

Gordon Giacomin (1910)

Paulo Ferreira (1874)

Libin Suesh (1861)

Ed McKearney (1763)

Ken Cashin (1723)

Jim Livingstone (1723)

Eric Newman (1712)

Conrad MacNeil (1680)

David Bardsley (1606)

John MacLean (1262)

Jason Remai (unr)

Greg Oliver (unr)


Probable Participants:

Jim Gilks (1870)

Stephen LeBlanc (1676)

Harold Uuetoa (1656)


Maybe Participants:

Jose Gonzalez-Cueto (2030)

Brian McKay (1907)



Affordable hotels nearby:

Wedgewood Hotel, Bedford Highway

Howard Johnson/The Bluenose Inn & Suites, Bedford Highway

Chebucto Inn, Lady Hammond Road


Leave a Reply