Nova Scotia Open 2017

posted in: Announcements | 0

Date: May 12-14, 2017

Location: Saint Mary’s University, 923 Robie Street, Halifax, N.S., Loyola Building, Room 175 (See campus map.)

Contact: Ken Cashin

Type: Five round Swiss.

Registration: Friday, May 12th onsite, 5:30 p.m.-5:45 p.m.


Rd 1: Friday, May 12th, 6 p.m.

Rd 2: Saturday, May 13th, 10 a.m.

Rd 3: Saturday, May 13th, 4 p.m.

Rd 4: Sunday, May 14th, 10 a.m.

Rd 5: Sunday, May 14th, 4 p.m.

Time control: Game in 2 hours, with 30-second increments starting at move one.


Tournament Entry Fee:

Adults (age 18 and over): $40

Seniors (age 65 and over): $35

Juniors (under age 18): $35

Byes: Half-point byes are available, but must be requested to the tournament director before the tournament begins, i.e., either before or at the time of registration.

Forfeits: Players are required to play all five rounds unless they have declared byes beforehand, as indicated above. Unless they have declared a bye for a particular round, as indicated above, players who do not show up for a game will be forfeited for that game, i.e., they will earn a score of zero for the game and their opponent will earn a score of one point for the game.

Also, a player is expected to show up on time for the start of the round, as a courtesy to their opponent. If a player does not show up within an hour after a game starts, the player will be forfeited for that round, i.e., they will earn a score of zero for the game and their opponent will earn a score of one point for the game.

Note: In addition to paying the tournament entry fee stated above, to participate in the tournament a payer must be a member of the Chess Federation of Canada (CFC). The membership can be purchased online on the CFC site before the tournament, or can be paid to the tournament director onsite at time of registration.


Last updated May 10, 2017, 9:40 a.m.

Confirmed Participants:

Antoni Wysocki (2186)

Projjwal Pramanik (2065)

Chris Felix (2035)

Glenn Charlton (2032)

Jose Gonzalez-Cueto (2028)

Gordon Giacomin (1952)

Ken Cashin (1824)

Ed McKearney (1771)

Jonas Dornieden (1768)

Eric Newman (1731)

David Bardsley (1570)

Jarrett Gabriel (1520)

Jerry Pittman (1457)

Andy Vo (1345)

Peter Vo (1326)

Lewis Ford (1218)

Halo Shi (unr)

Frank King (unr)

Thomas Nguyen (unr)


Probable Participants

David Kenney (1899)

Brian McKay (1896)

Jim Gilks (1872)

David Poirier (1797)

Harold Uuetoa (1652)

Conrad MacNeil (1628)

Mark Fowlie (1315)


Maybe Participants:

Paul Abela (1959)

Lloyd Lombard (1388)




Affordable hotels nearby:

Wedgewood Hotel, Bedford Highway

Howard Johnson/The Bluenose Inn & Suites, Bedford Highway

Chebucto Inn, Lady Hammond Road


Leave a Reply