Lifetime Achievement Award to Harold Uuetoa

The Nova Scotia Chess Association is pleased to announce that it has presented an award for Lifetime Achievement to Harold Uuetoa. The award, presented on September 5, 2011, honours Harold for the more than 50 years for which he has been playing competitive chess.

Congratulations Harold!

Harold Uuetoa (left) receiving his lifetime achievement award from Ken Cashin (right).
Thanks to Jose Gonzalez-Cueto for the photo (click on the image for a larger version).

Nova Scotia Champions

The Nova Scotia Chess Champion is the winner of the Nova Scotia Closed Championship and is qualified to play in the Atlantic Closed Chess Championship. Because some of the records have been lost over the years we have not always been able to distinguish between a Nova Scotia Closed and Nova Scotia Open Champion.

2021 Tournament not held
2020 Tournament not held
2019 Alvah Mayo
2018 Jose Gonzalez-Cueto
2017 Chris Felix
2016 Chris Felix
2015 Adam Dorrance and Brendan Martin
2014 Zach Burrows
2013 Adam Dorrance
2012 Antoni Wysocki
2011 Tournament not held
2010 Tournament not held
2009 Tournament not held
2008 Antoni Wysocki
2007 Alvah Mayo
2006 Jason Kenney (Halifax) and Gary Ng (Halifax)
2005 Antoni Wysocki (Halifax)
2004 Gary Ng (Port Hawkesbury)
2003 Gary Ng (Port Hawkesbury)
2002 Alvah Mayo (Westville)
2001 Tyler Reddy (Halifax)
2000 Ed Urquhart
1999 Gerald Lomond
1998 Glenn Charlton (Halifax) and Alvah Mayo (Westville)
1996 Jim Mathers (Halifax)
1986 W. MacNeil (Sydney)
1984 Billy Peckford (Dartmouth)
1983 Glenn Charlton (Halifax)
1982 Brian Beed (Halifax)
1981 Glenn Charlton (Halifax)
1980 Glenn Charlton (Halifax)
1979 Kim Mohammed (Halifax)
1978 Michael Eldridge (Falmouth)
1977 Jim Mathers (Halifax)
1976 David Kenney (Halifax)
1975 Kim Mohammed (Halifax)
1974 James Mathers (Halifax)
1973 James Mathers (Halifax)
1972 James Mathers (Halifax)
1971 Roger Hubley (Halifax)
1970 James Mathers (Halifax)
1969 James Mathers (Halifax)
1968 Al M. Fraser (Stellarton)
1967 Frank Monks (Halifax)
1966 K. Dane Parker (Halifax)
1965 Michael Holmes (Halifax)
1964 Dr. P. Chadwick (Halifax)
1963 Harold Uuetoa (Herring Cove)
1962 Dr. P. Chadwick (Halifax)
1958 Harold Uuetoa (Herring Cove)
1956 K. Dane Parker (Halifax)
1955 George Beals (Halifax)
1954 J. Walker (Ellershouse)
1947 O.M. MacConnell (Halifax)
1910 Dr. Y.G. Ritchie (Halifax)
1909 Dr. Y.G. Ritchie (Halifax)
1908 Dr. Y.G. Ritchie (Halifax)
1907 J.B. Ternan (Halifax)
1906 W.H. Lalmon (Windsor)1905 F.P.H. Layton (Truro)

Bluenose Chess Club Champions

History of the Bluenose Chess Club.

2016 Antoni Wysocki and Stephen Saunders
2015 Jose Gonzalez-Cueto
2014 Adam Dorrance
2013 Adam Dorrance and Zach Burrows
2012 Chris Felix
2011 Brendan Martin and Elias Oussedik
2010 Tournament not Held
2009 Jason Kenney and Gary Ng
2008 Gary Ng and Jason Kenney
2007 Jason Kenney and Antoni Wysocki
2006 Jason Kenney
2005 Jason Kenney and Gary Ng
2004 Tournament not Held
2003 Alvah Mayo and Jose Gonzalez-Cueto
2002 Gary Ng
2001 Jason Kenney
2000 Justin Gulati and Ilias Baiguildine
1999 Ed Urquhart and Jason Kenney
1998 Justin Gulati
1997 Gerald Lomond
1996 Robert Villeneuve
1995 Ed Urquhart
1994 Joon Hoong Chay
1993 Jim Mathers
1992 Michael Eldridge
1991 Goran Prpic
1990 Antoni Wysocki
1989 Billy Peckford
1987 Glenn Charlton
1986 Paul Hake
1985 Jim Mathers
1984 David Kenney
1983 Brian Pentz
1982 Brian Beed
1981 Brian Beed
1980 Glenn Charlton
1979 David Kenney
1978 Glenn Charlton
1977 Randolph Tufts
1976 Glenn Charlton
1975 David Pavlowich
1974 Dan Tigner

Nova Scotia Open Champions

Winners of the Nova Scotia Open Chess Tournament:

2014 Zach Burrows
2013 Jean Desforges and Brendan Martin
2012 Brian McKay and Anthony Leonard
2011 Jason Kenney and Jasmine Du
2010 Brian Pentz
2009 Alvah Mayo
2008 Antoni Wysocki
2007 James Gilks
2006 Jean Desforges (Note: 2006 tournament incorrectly named “Victoria Day Open”)
2005 Jean Desforges and Jason Kenney
2004 Jason Kenney
2003 Alvah Mayo
2002 Jason Kenney and Alvah Mayo
2001 Alvah Mayo
2000 Michael Eldridge
1999 Erik Teichmann
1998 Glenn Charlton
1997 Justin Gulati, Michael Guignard and Steve Saunders
1996 Robert Villeneuve and Antoni Wysocki
1995 Ed Urquhart and John Paterson

Nova Scotia Junior Champions

The Nova Scotia Junior Chess Champion is qualified to play in the Canadian Junior Chess Championship.

1999 Jason Kenney
1997 Tyler Reddy
1996 Alex Fraser

Nova Scotia Cadet Champions

The Nova Scotia Cadet (Under 16 years old) Chess Champion is qualified to play in the Atlantic Closed Cadet Chess Championship.

1998 Tyler Reddy
1997 Tyler Reddy
1996 Jordan Fleury
1995 Jordan Fleury
1994 Matthew Furrow
1993 Matthew Furrow
1992 Raju Chelluri