Bluenose Open 2018 – with GM Eric Hansen participating

posted in: Announcements | 0

Date: February 23-25, 2018

Location: Saint Mary’s University, 923 Robie Street, Halifax, N.S., Loyola Building, Room 175 (See campus map.)

Contact: Ken Cashin

Type: Five round Swiss.

Registration: Friday, February 23rd 2017, onsite, 5:15 p.m.-5:45 p.m.


Rd 1: Friday, February 23rd, 6 p.m.

Rd 2: Saturday, February 24th, 10 a.m.

Rd 3: Saturday, February 24th, 4 p.m.

Rd 4: Sunday, February 25th, 9 a.m.

Rd 5: Sunday, February 25th, 2 p.m.

Time control: Game in 2 hours, with 30-second increments starting at move one.

Tournament Entry Fee:

Adults (age 18 and over): $40

Seniors (age 65 and over): $35

Juniors (under age 18): $35

Byes: Half-point byes are available, but must be requested to the tournament director before the tournament begins, i.e., either before or at the time of registration.

Forfeits: Players are required to play all five rounds unless they have declared byes beforehand, as indicated above. Unless they have declared a bye for a particular round, as indicated above, players who do not show up for a game will be forfeited for that game, i.e., they will earn a score of zero for the game and their opponent will earn a score of one point for the game.

Also, a player is expected to show up on time for the start of the round, as a courtesy to their opponent. If a player does not show up within an hour after a game starts, the player will be forfeited for that round, i.e., they will earn a score of zero for the game and their opponent will earn a score of one point for the game.

Forced byes: In rounds where there is an uneven number of players, a full-point, forced bye will be given to one player, as determined by the pairing software.

Note: In addition to paying the tournament entry fee stated above, to participate in the tournament a payer must be a member of the Chess Federation of Canada (CFC). The membership can be purchased online on the CFC site before the tournament, or can be paid to the tournament director onsite at time of registration.

Note: This tournament is subject to the Nova Scotia Chess Association Fair Play and Electronic Device Policy

Updated February 23, 2018, 12:35 p.m.

Confirmed Participants: (37 in total) 

GM Eric Hansen (2627)

NM Adam Dorrance (2297)

NM Roger Langen (2108)

Chris Felix (2059)

Jose Gonzalez-Cueto (2030)

Cynthia Cui (1948)

David Zhou (1947)

Brian McKay (1936)

Paul Abela (1924)

Stephen Saunders (1910)

David Kenney (1891)

Elfred Duray (1863)

Leo Cui (1835)

David Poirier (1809)

Conrad MacNeil (1739)

Jonas Dornieden (1729)

Ed McKearney (1723)

Walter MacNeil (1715)

Ken Cashin (1690)

Eric Newman (1687)

Jim Livingstone (1686)

David Bardsley (1637)

Madoc Sullivan (1562)

Ray Cooke (1538)

Jerry Pittman (1458)

Lloyd Lombard (1476)

Jeremy Moore (1345)

John MacLean (1286)

Raymond Pilon (1285)

Jason Remai (1241)

Greg Van De Moortele (1111)

Zein Farnham (unr.)

Tallal Younis (unr.)

Taim Farnham (unr.)

Ryan Donovan (unr.)

James Birchall (unr.)

Nathan MacLellan (unr.)


Probable Participants:

Jim Gilks (1867)


Maybe Participants:

Libin Suresh (1918)

Fred Phillips (1785)



Affordable hotels nearby:

Wedgewood Hotel, Bedford Highway

Howard Johnson/The Bluenose Inn & Suites, Bedford Highway

Chebucto Inn, Lady Hammond Road


Leave a Reply