posted in: Announcements | 0

*** Please email Ken Cashin if you intend to play in this tournament: *** 

Date: October 6-8, 2018

Location: Saint Mary’s University, 923 Robie Street, Halifax, N.S., Loyola Building, Room 175 (See campus map.)

Contact: Ken Cashin

Type: Six round Swiss.

Registration: Saturday, October 6th onsite, 9:15 a.m. – 9:30 a.m.


Rd 1: Saturday, October 6, 2018, 10 a.m.

Rd 2: Saturday, October 6, 2018, 4 p.m.

Rd 3: Sunday, October 7, 2018, 10 a.m.

Rd 4: Sunday, October 7, 2018, 4 p.m.

Rd 5: Monday, October 8, 2018, 9 a.m.

Rd 6: Monday, October 8, 2018, 3 p.m.

Time control: Game in 2 hours, with 30-second increments starting at move one.

Tournament Entry Fee:

Adults (age 18 and over): $40

Seniors (age 65 and over): $35

Juniors (under age 18): $35

Byes: Half-point byes are available, but must be requested to the tournament director before the tournament begins, i.e., either before or at the time of registration.

Forfeits: Players are required to play all five rounds unless they have declared byes beforehand, as indicated above. Unless they have declared a bye for a particular round, as indicated above, players who do not show up for a game will be forfeited for that game, i.e., they will earn a score of zero for the game and their opponent will earn a score of one point for the game.

Also, a player is expected to show up on time for the start of the round, as a courtesy to their opponent. If a player does not show up within an hour after a game starts, the player will be forfeited for that round, i.e., they will earn a score of zero for the game and their opponent will earn a score of one point for the game.

Forced byes: In rounds where there is an uneven number of players, a full-point, forced bye will be given to one player, as determined by the pairing software.

Note: In addition to paying the tournament entry fee stated above, to participate in the tournament a payer must be a member of the Chess Federation of Canada (CFC). The membership can be purchased online on the CFC site before the tournament, or can be paid to the tournament director onsite at time of registration.

Note: This tournament is subject to the Nova Scotia Chess Association Fair Play and Electronic Device Policy

Last updated: Friday, October 5, 2018, 10 p.m.

Confirmed Participants:

Alvah Mayo (2164) (NS)

Tal Younis (2105) (NS)

Richard Bowes (2057) (NB)

Fred McKim (2050) (PEI)

Roger Langen (2029) (NS)

Stephen Saunders (1941) (NS)

David Poirier (1900) (NS)

Brian McKay (1891) (NS)

Daniel Mallais (1888) (NB)

Paulo Ferreira (1850) (NS)

Libin Suresh (1831) (NS)

Donald Gillis (1828) (NS)

Leo Cui (1826) (NB)

Donald MacLean (1761) (NS)

Ken Cashin (1714) (NS)

Walter MacNeil (1706) (NS)

Wane Inkpen (1703) (Nfld)

Jerjis Kapra (1703) (NS)

Conrad MacNeil (1688) (NS)

Stephen Leblanc (1674) (NS)

Jim Livingstone (1665) (NS)

Eric Newman (1646) (NS)

Harold Uuetoa (1635) (NS)

David Bardsley (1623) (NS)

Ian Anderson (1616) (NS)

Vadym Stoilov (1546) (NB)

Madoc Sullivan (1502) (NS)

Xuanyu Bao (unr., est ~ 1500) (NS)

Adam Cleave (1478) (NS)

Darin Evoy (1478) (NS)

Greg Van De Moortele (1390) (NS)

Brian Zhang (1264) (NS)

John MacLean (1253) (NS)

Arnav Kapadia (1252) (NS)

Ray Pilon (1233) (NB)

Matthew Bennett (unr.) (NS)


Probable Participants:

Andrew Ni (1294) (NS)

Neil Uppal (1291) (NS)

Jason Remai (1155) (NS)


Maybe Participants:

Adam Dorrance (2324) (NS)

Amit Vishvanath (1574) (NS)

Mark Fowlie (1435) (NB)




Leave a Reply