George Beals Open 2018

posted in: Announcements | 0

*** Please email Ken Cashin if you intend to play in this tournament: *** 


Date: June 8-10, 2018

Location: Mount Saint Vincent University, 166 Bedford Highway, Halifax, NS., McCain Centre, Room 302 (See campus map.)

Contact: Ken Cashin

Type: Five round Swiss.

Registration: Friday, June 8th onsite, 5:15 p.m.-5:45 p.m.


Rd 1: Friday, June 8th, 6 p.m.

Rd 2: Saturday, June 9th, 10 a.m.

Rd 3: Saturday, June 9th, 4 p.m.

Rd 4: Sunday, June 10th, 9 a.m.

Rd 5: Sunday, June 10th, 3 p.m.

Time control: Game in 2 hours, with 30-second increments starting at move one.


Tournament Entry Fee:

Adults (age 18 and over): $40

Seniors (age 65 and over): $35

Juniors (under age 18): $35

Byes: Half-point byes are available, but must be requested to the tournament director before the tournament begins, i.e., either before or at the time of registration.

Forfeits: Players are required to play all five rounds unless they have declared byes beforehand, as indicated above. Unless they have declared a bye for a particular round, as indicated above, players who do not show up for a game will be forfeited for that game, i.e., they will earn a score of zero for the game and their opponent will earn a score of one point for the game.

Also, a player is expected to show up on time for the start of the round, as a courtesy to their opponent. If a player does not show up within an hour after a game starts, the player will be forfeited for that round, i.e., they will earn a score of zero for the game and their opponent will earn a score of one point for the game.

Forced byes: In rounds where there is an uneven number of players, a full-point, forced bye will be given to one player, as determined by the pairing software.

Note: In addition to paying the tournament entry fee stated above, to participate in the tournament a payer must be a member of the Chess Federation of Canada (CFC). The membership can be purchased online on the CFC site before the tournament, or can be paid to the tournament director onsite at time of registration.

Note: This tournament is subject to the Nova Scotia Chess Association Fair Play and Electronic Device Policy

Last updated: Wednesday, June 8, 2018, 8:45 a.m.

Confirmed Participants (20 so far): 

Alvah Mayo (2197)

Chris Spicer (2017)

Gordon Giacomin (1942)

Paul Abela (1904)

Paulo Ferreira (1843)

Libin Suresh (1840)

Donald Gillis (1823)

Jonas Dornieden (1772)

Ken Cashin (1767)

Conrad MacNeil (1736)

Ed McKearney (1695)

Jim Livingstone (1633)

Eric Newman (1628)

David Bardsley (1622)

Derek Green (1550)

Steve McLeod (1510)

Darin Evoy (1440)

Vadym Stoilov (1321)

John MacLean (1284)

Arnav Kapadia (1249)


Probable Participants:

Brian McKay (1936)

Harold Uuetoa (1642)


Maybe Participants:

Stephen Saunders (1865)

Mark Fowlie (1464)

Greg Van De Moortele (1352)




Affordable hotels nearby:

Wedgewood Hotel, Bedford Highway

Howard Johnson/The Bluenose Inn & Suites, Bedford Highway

Chebucto Inn, Lady Hammond Road


Leave a Reply