Bluenose Open 2017

posted in: Announcements | 0

Date: February 17-19, 2017

Location: Saint Mary’s University, 923 Robie Street, Halifax, N.S., Loyola Building, Room 175 (See campus map.)

Contact: Ken Cashin

Type: Five round Swiss.

Registration: Friday, February 17th 2017, onsite, 5:30 p.m.-5:45 p.m.


Rd 1: Friday, February 17th, 6 p.m.

Rd 2: Saturday, February 18th, 10 a.m.

Rd 3: Saturday, February 18th, 4 p.m.

Rd 4: Sunday, February 19th, 10 a.m.

Rd 5: Sunday, February 19th, 4 p.m.

Time control: Game in 2 hours, with 30-second increments starting at move one.

Tournament Entry Fee:

Adults (age 18 and over): $40

Seniors (age 65 and over): $35

Juniors (under age 18): $35

Byes: Half-point byes are available, but must be requested to the tournament director before the tournament begins, i.e., either before or at the time of registration.

Forfeits: Players are required to play all five rounds unless they have declared byes beforehand, as indicated above. Unless they have declared a bye for a particular round, as indicated above, players who do not show up for a game will be forfeited for that game, i.e., they will earn a score of zero for the game and their opponent will earn a score of one point for the game.

Also, a player is expected to show up on time for the start of the round, as a courtesy to their opponent. If a player does not show up within an hour after a game starts, the player will be forfeited for that round, i.e., they will earn a score of zero for the game and their opponent will earn a score of one point for the game.

Note: In addition to paying the tournament entry fee stated above, to participate in the tournament a payer must be a member of the Chess Federation of Canada (CFC). The membership can be purchased online on the CFC site before the tournament, or can be paid to the tournament director onsite at time of registration.


Updated February 17, 2017, 3:25 p.m.

Confirmed Participants:

Antoni Wysocki (2192)

Jose Gonzalez-Cueto (2051)

Paul Abela (1916)

Stephen Saunders (1886)

Ken Cashin (1844)

Alex Relyea (1823)

Cynthia Cui (1804)

Eric Newman (1769)

Ed McKearney (1742)

Leonardo Cui (1669)

Erdem Daldal (1652)

Ray Cooke (1561)

David Bardsley (1517)

Jawad Khan (1491)

Lloyd Lombard (1386)

Nita Patel (1350)

John MacLean (1285)

Lewis Ford (1095)


Probable Participants:

Adam Dorrance (2276)

Brian McKay (1937)

David Kenney (1886)

Paulo Ferreira (1862)

Harold Uuetoa (1646)

Conrad MacNeil (1644)

Steve McLeod (1493)


Maybe Participants:

Jim Gilks (1812)

Fred Phillips (1782)

Laurie Parker (1552)

Aidan Roy (1519)



Affordable hotels nearby:

Wedgewood Hotel, Bedford Highway

Howard Johnson/The Bluenose Inn & Suites, Bedford Highway

Chebucto Inn, Lady Hammond Road


Leave a Reply